Funds accounting
The headline totals have been revised repeatedly as the attributed set has widened, and different sources count different sets. This page keeps each source's current number, when it last moved, and what it measures.
Different sources now report different totals because they count different sets, and Galaxy's top line moved three times between 31 July and 3 August. Galaxy Research puts confirmed losses at 1,596 BTC from about 7,300 addresses as of 3 August, rising to 2,055 BTC if a suspected fourth wave is confirmed. The three community trackers stood at 1,405.07 to 1,923.81 BTC when this archive last read them, depending on what they count. Every figure below keeps its source, the set it counts and the date it was stated; superseded figures live in the register further down, not in the headline numbers.
The cards measure different sets, not competing measurements of one set. Each tracker figure is read out of the copy this archive holds, and says which capture it came from, when the figure last moved, and whether the tracker is still answering. They are readings of a held copy rather than live balances: a tracker moves between captures, and this page moves only when it is rebuilt. V1
The headline numbers, and when they last moved
Each row is the figure a source currently stands behind, with the set it counts and the time it was stated or captured. The full register, including superseded figures and press restatements, is further down.
| Source | Figure | What it counts | Stated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Galaxy Researchconfirmed | 1,596 BTCexceeds US$100M | Three confirmed waves plus 14 smaller incidents, about 7,300 addresses; confirmed through victim reports | Published 3 Aug, 22:51 UTC. Third top line in four days: 1,082.65 BTC on 31 Jul, 1,367.05 BTC on 1 Aug. |
| Galaxy Researchincl. suspected wave 4 | 2,055 BTC~US$130m | The confirmed set plus a pattern-matched fourth wave that no victim has confirmed; Galaxy has not promoted it into its top line | Published 3 Aug, 22:51 UTC, same thread. |
| coldcard-hack-trackerSamSamskies' tracker | 1,923.80748125 BTC | 8 labelled waves, 30 Jul to 3 Aug, including a likely wave 4 carried at 443.34 BTC; self-described as a floor | Read from the capture of 15 Aug 13:23 UTC, unchanged since 4 Aug 00:44 UTC. History below. |
| coldcard.ripKevin Kelbie's tracker | 1,433.13 BTCfrom 5,477 addresses | Ten block-indexed waves, 30 Jul to 3 Aug; 1,432.48 BTC received after fees; its own data snapshot 3 Aug 22:59 UTC. The page self-describes as AI-compiled, not independently fact-checked | Successor to the railway deployment Kelbie announced on 2 Aug. Read from the capture of 5 Aug 08:28 UTC, unchanged since 3 Aug 21:51 UTC. |
| coldcard-watchanonymous tracker | 1,405.0671 BTC4,925 addresses | Self-described verified minimums over the drain window it gives as 30 and 31 Jul: a floor. Since 7 Aug the page splits its view into Verified, Attested and Suspected, and the figure here is the verified one | Anonymously operated. Moved from coldcard-watch.vercel.app to coldcardwatch.com on 3 to 4 Aug, and renamed itself from Coldcard Sweep Watch to Coldcard Watch on 7 Aug. Read from the capture of 7 Aug 03:32 UTC. |
The spread is explained by scope, not by one source being right and another wrong. The trackers count overlapping but different wave sets at different times, Galaxy states that its confirmed total rests on victim reports, and the trackers publish their own pattern criteria. The 45.9 BTC cluster first reported on 31 July is now carried as one wave of ten on Kelbie's own tracker.
What the 30 July figures measure
TFTC reproduced the visible chain event and publishes the net value received by one first collector: 594.47722484 BTC across the 500-transaction set. It explicitly limits its statement to the visible chain event and does not claim that every transaction came from this firmware flaw. R3
Rob Hamilton's preliminary post reported the same 1,324 UTXOs, 500 transactions and approximately 594.48 BTC, followed by a consolidation of about 562 BTC. It described a "3 block window", while the transactions are confirmed across four blocks. The block timestamps run from 01:36:08 to 01:51:26 UTC, a span of 15 minutes 18 seconds, consistent with Hamilton's separate description of an approximately 15-minute period. Hamilton also reported that all addresses in the 500-transaction set used single-signature spending conditions, none used Taproot, and the spent UTXOs dated from 2021 to 2026: properties of the observed outputs and spending scripts, not proof of each owner's wallet configuration or seed creation date. R4
In Galaxy's flow-of-funds mapping, the first collector consolidates into the largest final holding while retaining a remainder, and the 695-transaction set Block reported passes through three first collectors and two batch consolidations before reaching the same four holdings. A single first collector and four final holdings are therefore successive stages of the flows, not competing descriptions of one stage. R5
Galaxy's 31 July attribution, the 30 July set
1,196 addresses, 1,082.65 BTC; superseded twice as Galaxy's top line
Galaxy Research reported 1,196 addresses and 1,082.65 BTC from 01:10:20 to 01:51:26 UTC on 30 July, across blocks 960,183 to 960,191. It attributed the wider set to one operator using the transaction pattern identified by Block. Galaxy also published a derivation-path count of 1,183 BIP-84, 7 BIP-49 and 6 BIP-44 addresses. R6 This remains Galaxy's figure for the 30 July waves. Its top line has moved twice since, on 1 August and again on 3 August; both revisions are recorded next.
Galaxy described the repeated target as a "hardcoded 30.0 sat/vB" fee rate with no change output. Galaxy Research, X, 31 Jul 2026
Galaxy does not publish the underlying transaction list or its address-counting method, so the 1,196-address set cannot be rechecked address by address from the post alone. On-chain output types do not independently reveal wallet derivation paths, so the BIP-84, BIP-49 and BIP-44 counts remain Galaxy's reported classification.
Galaxy's revisions: 1 August, then 3 August
At 18:38 UTC on 1 August 2026, Galaxy Research reported a third sweep wave of 207.7294 BTC and revised its estimated observed size of the incident to 1,367.05 BTC, stated as approximately US$88.6m, across 4,585 addresses. R7 That superseded the 1,082.65 BTC total Galaxy published on 31 July, which remains Galaxy's figure for the 30 July waves above. The two are different scopes rather than alternative measurements of one set: Galaxy's spans three waves, including a third wave for which Galaxy has not published a transaction list, so the totals should not be added or read against each other.
At 22:51 UTC on 3 August, Galaxy revised its top line again: high-confidence 1,596 BTC stolen from about 7,300 addresses across three confirmed waves plus 14 smaller incidents, stated as exceeding US$100M. The basis changed with the number. Wave 1, first observed by Block's engineers, is now fully confirmed through victim reports; waves 2 and 3 were discovered through victim reports, with confirmations continuing; and 73 individual victims have contacted Galaxy's @intangiblecoins for help tracing their coins. R8 The 14 smaller footprints, identified with help from victim reports, "could be many different attackers individually exploiting the now-known vulnerability", so the confirmed total is no longer a one-operator claim.
Including the suspected fourth wave would bring Galaxy's total to 2,055 BTC, stated as approximately US$130m. Galaxy believes with medium-high confidence that wave 4 is substantially comprised of an attacker, but has not promoted it into the top-line numbers because no victim has confirmed inclusion. R9 The wave-4 material itself, circulated and twice corrected by @intangiblecoins before Galaxy's statement, is recorded below.
The same thread states that 90 percent of stolen coins have not moved and 100 percent of coins in waves 1 to 3 have not moved, and that Galaxy has been providing confirmed attacker and victim addresses to US federal law enforcement, exchanges, and compliance and cyber-investigation firms. R10 This supersedes Galaxy's 1 August statement of 1,366.3865 BTC under attacker control with every endpoint address fully unspent, and the four holdings Galaxy published for the 30 July waves, listed below, fall inside the waves Galaxy describes as unmoved. Galaxy's statement is fixed to 3 August: a community tracker has since recorded a spend on 7 August from a wave 2 collector address inside that set, which is recorded with the holdings below. It also states that the attack is ongoing, which is outside this accounting page and remains preserved in the linked source record.
Galaxy states its own method limit, first published with the 1 August revision. It bounds every Galaxy figure quoted on this page and is the first thing to read beside any of them, not a footnote.
The data "is derived solely from analyzing Bitcoin block data and the unspent-output set". Galaxy has "not utilized compute to test whether the addresses we have identified as possible victims were indeed generated with low entropy", and calls the work its best effort on short notice, which "should not be considered to be complete or definitive". Galaxy Research, X, 1 Aug 2026
The 1 August thread also states that the vulnerable firmware shipped on 17 March 2021 around block 674,951, and that no coin identified in waves 1 to 3 was created before that block. R11 That bears on the affected firmware range rather than on the accounting here, and is taken up on the firmware page.
The estimate register
every published total, what it measures, when it moved
This register preserves the estimate as each source stated it, newest first. "Copy held" means the archive has a captured version that can be checked for later changes. The press rows mostly restate the primary accountings rather than add independent analysis.
| Source | Estimate | What it counts | Tracked |
|---|---|---|---|
| Galaxy ResearchX, 3 Aug 2026 | 1,596 BTC confirmedexceeds US$100M; 2,055 BTC with suspected wave 4 | Three confirmed waves plus 14 smaller incidents across about 7,300 addresses; the 2,055 BTC form is not promoted for lack of victim confirmation | primary thread, copy held; supersedes the 1 Aug row below |
| LookonchainX, 4 Aug 2026 | 2,055 BTC$130M; over 7,700 victim addresses | Relays Galaxy's unpromoted including-wave-4 figure as the headline total | copy held; a relay, not independent analysis |
| coldcard-hack-trackerSamSamskies · capture of 15 Aug 13:23 UTC | 1,923.80748125 BTC | 8 labelled waves, 30 Jul to 3 Aug, including a likely wave 4 at 443.34 BTC; self-described floor | copy held; unchanged since 4 Aug 00:44 UTC, and the live page moves often |
| coldcard.ripKevin Kelbie · capture of 5 Aug 08:28 UTC | 1,433.13 BTC swept1,432.48 BTC received after fees; its own data snapshot 3 Aug 22:59 UTC | Ten block-indexed waves from 5,477 swept addresses; self-described as AI-compiled, not independently fact-checked | copy held; supersedes Kelbie's 2 Aug post below |
| coldcard-watchanonymous · capture of 7 Aug 03:32 UTC | 1,405.0671 BTC | Self-described verified minimums across 4,925 addresses drained on 30 and 31 Jul; the verified one of the three views the page split out on 7 Aug | copy held; moved to coldcardwatch.com, and first read at this figure in the capture of 7 Aug 03:32 UTC |
| @intangiblecoins wave 4X and Pastebin, 3 Aug 2026 | 448.73 BTC stated surviving core486.11 BTC as circulated | A circulated fourth-wave set, stated at 709 addresses after two corrections; pattern-matched, with no direct victim confirmation reported | original thread, address lists and corrections held; detailed below, outside Galaxy's confirmed total |
| Kevin Kelbie trackerX, 2 Aug 2026 | 1,367 BTC | Coins followed from victim addresses to current position across 4,620 drained addresses; the post does not itemise which waves the set counts | primary post, copy held; superseded by Kelbie's own coldcard.rip row above |
| Galaxy ResearchX, 1 Aug 2026 | 1,367.05 BTC~US$88.6m | Estimated observed size across three waves and 4,585 addresses, wider than the 30 July set of Galaxy's 31 July figure | primary post, copy held; superseded 3 Aug |
| Galaxy ResearchX, 31 Jul 2026 | 1,082.65 BTC~US$70.2M | Gross value, published 1,196-address set, superseded by both revisions above | primary post, copy held |
| The Block31 Jul 2026 | 1,082.65 BTC"grow to $70 million" | reports Galaxy | copy held; article unchanged since 31 Jul |
| Block / Garrett31 Jul 2026 | 488.10957948 BTC net | Net value at three first collectors for the reported 695-transaction set; the 500-set receipt is the TFTC row below | primary thread, copy held; attribution unverified |
| TFTC31 Jul 2026 | 594.47722484 BTC | Net value at the first collector for the 500-transaction set | copy held |
| Rob Hamilton30 Jul 2026 | 594.48 BTC moved | Preliminary: 1,324 UTXOs, 500 transactions, about 562 BTC consolidated | primary post, copy held |
| Bitcoin Optech #41631 Jul 2026 | "exceed 1,000 BTC" | unitemised | copy held |
| Bitcoin Magazine31 Jul 2026 | "over a thousand""$70 million in the past 24 hours" | unitemised | copy held |
| KeychainX31 Jul 2026 | 594.48 BTC~US$38M; up to 1,082.59 if linked | confirmed + conditional | copy held; a recovery firm, says so on the page |
| Coin36031 Jul 2026 | 594.48 BTC~US$38.3M; 1,082.59 "not fully confirmed" | confirmed + conditional | copy held; AI-assisted per its own footer |
| Kevin KelbieX, 1 Aug 2026 | up to 1,128.49 BTC | Adds a reported 45.9 BTC post-scan cluster with 1,216 transactions | primary post, copy held; attribution unverified |
The US$38 million and US$70 million figures primarily reflect different BTC sets, 594.48 BTC versus about 1,082.6 BTC, as well as each publisher's BTC/USD conversion time. Galaxy's approximately US$88.6m belongs to the three-wave scope of 1 August, and its US$100M and US$130m statements of 3 August to the wider confirmed and suspected sets. Tracker rows carry the figure read from the capture named in the row; those sites publish live totals that may have moved since it was taken.
The held diff record shows how quickly the moving rows moved. coldcard-watch's headline ran 1,082.57 to 1,128.47 to 1,158.85 to 1,359.18 to 1,366.58 BTC between 1 and 2 August. coldcard-hack-tracker's total ran 1,128.56 to 1,368.58 to 1,433.49 to 1,822.42 to 1,876.83 to 1,923.81 BTC between 1 and 4 August, the largest steps being its five-wave rebuild, its adoption of the wave-4 claim and its addition of a Taproot wave. Kelbie's own stated totals ran 1,128.49 BTC on 1 August, 1,367 BTC on 2 August and 1,433.13 BTC on 3 August. Each step is a classified captured difference, preserved under the changes record. V13 Then both trails went quiet for different reasons. coldcard-watch stood at 1,366.58 BTC for three days, not because the tracker held still but because the name stopped resolving through this collector's DNS on 4 August; when polling resumed on 7 August the first capture read 1,405.07 BTC across 4,925 addresses, and carried the rename and the three-way view filter with it. coldcard-hack-tracker's headline has not moved since 4 August, while the holdings, movement feed and still-held share underneath it have changed on most polls since. V14
A reported fourth wave, corrected twice, then assessed by Galaxy
pattern-matched; Galaxy suspects it but has not promoted it
On 3 August 2026 the @intangiblecoins account published a pattern-matched fourth-wave claim while transactions were still pending. The opening post states 218 transactions, 462 victim addresses, 216 fresh destinations and 388.92748828 BTC across blocks 960,778 to 960,792. Its two linked Pastebins hold the confirmed-transaction address set and a pending set stated as another 104 sweeps, 199 victim addresses and 70.16757699 BTC, all signalling replace-by-fee. The original three-post thread, both lists and the account's two later corrections are held. R15
The first correction, posted at 01:37 UTC on 3 August, removed six of 216 destination addresses because they had years of transaction history before block 960,183 on 30 July 2026, which the author judged unlikely for attacker addresses. Of the remaining addresses, 206 were stated to have been freshly created to receive the sweeps. R16
The second correction, posted at 03:22 UTC and credited to Nunchuk, states that the circulated set erroneously included multisig addresses, while waves 1 to 3 contain none. It gives wave 4 as circulated at 857 addresses and 486.11 BTC, a multisig discount of 89 addresses and 20.58 BTC, and a surviving core of 709 addresses and 448.73 BTC. The author stresses that wave 4 rests on pattern matching, that no direct victim has confirmed a wave-4 loss yet, and that the word "likely" is used out of caution. R17
Later on 3 August, at 22:51 UTC, Galaxy published its own assessment of the wave: medium-high confidence that wave 4 is substantially comprised of an attacker, a total of 2,055 BTC if it is included, and no promotion into the top-line numbers because no victim has confirmed inclusion. coldcard-hack-tracker carries the wave at 443.34 BTC across 703 addresses, and states its own derivation for that figure: it starts from 448.73 BTC, which it attributes to Galaxy rather than to @intangiblecoins, and drops six further destinations that already had prior on-chain history, a cut of 5.39 BTC. It also reads Galaxy's approximately 2,055 BTC ceiling as the 1,596 BTC high-confidence figure plus that 448.73 BTC candidate. Galaxy's own thread publishes neither 448.73 BTC nor any itemised wave-4 component, so the reconciliation is the tracker's reading of Galaxy rather than Galaxy's own. R18
The stated figures do not reconcile from the correction posts alone: 857 addresses minus the 89-address multisig discount gives 768, not the stated 709, and 486.11 BTC minus 20.58 BTC gives 465.53 BTC, not the stated 448.73 BTC. D19 The post does not explain the difference. As with other conflicting figures on this page, the numbers are preserved as the source states them rather than silently adjusted.
Wave 4 sits outside Galaxy's confirmed total and outside the 30 July sets above. Whether the wave-4 set belongs to the same incident is recorded as an open question below.
Published windows use different sets and clocks
The timing statements are not all measurements of the same transaction set. Where a source gives a date without a timezone, it cannot be converted to a UTC date without an additional assumption.
| Source | Window | Span | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| 500-transaction set, block timestamps | 01:36:08 to 01:51:26 UTC, 30 Jul | 15 min 18 sec, blocks 960,188 to 960,191 | Verified from the four confirming blocks. Hamilton reported approximately 15 minutes but also called it a three-block window. |
| Coin360 and KeychainX | 01:31 to 01:56 UTC, 30 Jul | 25 min | Secondary reports. Neither captured page supplies the underlying transaction boundaries. |
| CoinDesk | 01:31 to 01:56 UTC, dated Friday | 25 min, also given as under 30 minutes | Day-one reporting of the narrower set, headlined as a 25-minute sweep. It places the transactions inside a three-block window, while the 500 transactions confirm across four blocks, and it gives the day as Friday rather than a calendar date. |
| Galaxy Research | 01:10:20 to 01:51:26 UTC, 30 Jul | 41 min 6 sec, blocks 960,183 to 960,191 | Reported in Galaxy's primary post for its wider attributed set. The 695 transactions occur in blocks 960,183 and 960,185. |
| Bitcoin Optech #416 | "transactions on 29 July" | No time or timezone stated | Verified against the captured newsletter. A timezone explanation is possible but is not stated by Optech, so this page does not assign one. |
Galaxy's four consolidation holdings
published 31 July; stated unmoved on 3 August
Galaxy's 31 July flow-of-funds mapping names four final consolidation holdings for the attributed 30 July sets. The original first collector for the 500-transaction set sent 562.01962301 BTC to the first address and retained 32.45055543 BTC in the fourth, per the same mapping. R21
| Address | Published amount | Status |
|---|---|---|
bc1qq85v2c926eg6pgxhwp6q7lf6cnsz80qs3fcu9r | 562.01962301 BTC | stated unmoved, 3 Aug |
bc1qx76cae2706qd5q576feh7xq8rfcsjpf2htfhe3 | 398.47573857 BTC | stated unmoved, 3 Aug |
bc1q8jy96fe5lf8vfugydnte3cguk92gpev7kwtp3q | 89.62327890 BTC | stated unmoved, 3 Aug |
bc1qnk4zh9qcnap2mycp56qjrgza3cc8ylrh8fecp0 | 32.45055543 BTC | stated unmoved, 3 Aug |
Galaxy stated on 3 August
that 100 percent of coins in waves 1 to 3 have not moved and 90 percent of
stolen coins overall have not moved, a statement that covers these four
holdings. All four are still recorded as held in the newest
coldcard-hack-tracker capture. Movement has since been recorded inside the
wider set that statement covered, though not in these four addresses: on
7 August the tracker recorded the wave 2 collector
bc1qmd5m5k…9n8jp6 emptied, 30.18476329 BTC leaving in a
93-input consolidation confirmed at block 961,368, and qualified its own
Galaxy source note to say that waves 1 to 3 coins were then still unmoved.
Its moved total ran from 6.81368697 BTC in the capture of
4 Aug 03:05 UTC to 118.60759628 BTC in the capture of
7 Aug 13:20 UTC, and its still-held share from
99.5 to 92.0 percent.
The rest of the movement it records sits
outside the four holdings, in the suspected wave-4 park, the later Taproot
wave and the smaller incidents: deposits it attributes to Bullish.com,
Coinbase Prime Custody, KuCoin and Binance, and an ETH leg it says ran
through THORChain into Tornado Cash, credited on the page to @osint_based.
R23
No captured source reports a seizure, recovery or freeze for any of these
funds as of 15 August 2026. This is an absence of reported evidence, not a
prediction about future movement.
Two community trackers, coldcard-watch and coldcard-hack-tracker, monitor attributed addresses and publish changing totals, and a third, coldcard.rip, keeps a ten-wave ledger with a movement record. Their captured figures use differing treatments of the later waves and later inbound deposits, so they should not be used as a fixed incident total without those qualifications.
Galaxy cautioned that future transactions involving affected keys would not need to share this transaction pattern. R24 The observed fee and output pattern characterises the set attributed by Block and Galaxy; it is not a necessary property of exploiting the firmware flaw.
Reported handling, and what is not reported
Three threads about how the incident is being handled appear in the captured record and belong beside the accounting. Block said it was sharing the relevant information with the appropriate authorities, and that it would provide further updates when doing so would not interfere with the investigation. Coinkite, through NVK, said it would provide a written incident summary specific to a user's loss along with any transaction data it could share, for people pursuing a police report, an insurance claim or their own investigation, and said it was cooperating with the on-chain investigators and with any law-enforcement agency that opens a case. Galaxy said on 3 August that it has been providing confirmed attacker and victim addresses to US federal law enforcement, exchanges, and compliance and cyber-investigation firms. R25
One reported item describes an approach to the operator rather than movement of the funds. Bitcoin News reported a dust transaction sent to the attacker's largest consolidation address, the 562 BTC holding in the table above, carrying an OP_RETURN message that advertised a laundering service for a 10 percent cut. The report withholds the embedded Telegram handle, says the message's authenticity is unproven, and notes that the stolen coins had not moved: someone was approaching the attacker on chain, and the transaction is not attacker activity. R26
One custodial response downstream of the cluster is also recorded. After a captured report that part of one victim's roughly 30 BTC was peeled over THORChain and reached a gambling site, the site, Duel, replied that it does not freeze balances on third-party claims as policy, but offered a one-time exception if the victim signs a message from a drained address, signs an affidavit and shows Duel the evidence trail. No outcome of that offer appears in captures held to 15 August 2026. R27
Two further points sit beside that: an absence of any recorded custodial action against the attributed addresses, and the collection route left open by Galaxy's own methodology disclaimer.
Custodial action, and where Galaxy's set stays open
two absences in the held record
Nothing in the held captures records an exchange freeze, a flagging commitment or any other custodial action against the four consolidation addresses as of 15 August 2026, and no captured source names an exchange or service that has undertaken to stop or mark deposits from them. The tracker record does show deposits attributed to the later wave-4 park reaching Bullish.com, Coinbase Prime Custody and KuCoin, and deposits attributed to the later Taproot wave reaching Binance, with no freeze or seizure of any of those reported either. That is an absence in what has been published and collected here, not a finding that no such step has been taken. U28
One collection route is open on the analysis side. Galaxy's own disclaimer records that some of the addresses behind its on-chain topographies were received from victim reports on X, and that its analysis "should not be considered to be complete or definitive". Its identified set is therefore open to further reported attacker and victim addresses rather than closed; its published top line moved twice between 31 July and 3 August, both times upward. R29 This archive does not collect or publish victim addresses, and nothing here should be read as advice to send an address to a third party.
Causation remains unverified
The timing and transaction pattern are consistent with the public incident, but the blockchain does not identify the hardware or software that generated a private key. TFTC explicitly separates its reproduced chain event from the unproven claim that every transaction resulted from this firmware flaw. Galaxy's 3 August thread states that the 14 smaller footprints it identified could be many different attackers individually exploiting the now-known vulnerability. U30
Not yet known
- How many people were hit. Source-address counts and people are not equivalent. One person or entity can control multiple addresses, and an address can have multiple controllers. The number of distinct affected owners is unknown; 73 individual victims had contacted Galaxy's @intangiblecoins for tracing help as of 3 August, a reported lower bound on affected owners, not a count. R31
- How many operators are behind the confirmed set. Galaxy's 3 August thread confirms waves 1 to 3 through victim reports but states that the 14 smaller footprints could be many different attackers individually exploiting the now-known vulnerability. Block's fingerprint match for the 695 earlier transactions remains reported rather than independently confirmed. On 4 August, Galaxy's Alex Thorn estimated at least 15 distinct attackers based on continuing victim reports and newly labelled activity. R32 The newer number is therefore recorded as an estimate, not a resolved operator count. U33
- What is in Galaxy's wider confirmed set. Galaxy's 3 August total spans three confirmed waves plus 14 smaller incidents across about 7,300 addresses. The underlying transaction and address lists are not published, and Galaxy states it has not tested whether the addresses it identifies were generated with low entropy. R34
- Whether the reported 31 July cluster is related. Kevin Kelbie reported 1,216 transactions moving 45.9 BTC after Block's scan end. Seven of eight stated markers match, while the replace-by-fee behaviour differs. Kelbie's own tracker now integrates the cluster as wave 960345 of its ten-wave incident set, citing a named claimant, a Chainabuse report and Galaxy Research. It enters no total on this page. R35 U36
- Whether the circulated fourth wave is part of the same incident. The corrected wave-4 set rests on pattern matching. Galaxy suspects it is real with medium-high confidence, and neither Galaxy nor its author reports direct victim confirmation as of 15 August 2026. The coldcard-hack-tracker capture of 14 Aug 2026, 00:24 UTC still labels the wave "pattern-match only (no victim report yet)". Its stated figures, corrections and unreconciled arithmetic are recorded above; it enters no total on this page. U37
- Whether the consolidated funds will move further, and where. Movement has been reported outside the four-address cluster, from the suspected wave-4 park and the later Taproot wave, and on 7 August from a wave 2 collector inside the set Galaxy described as unmoved. No forward statement is possible; the four holdings above are Galaxy's as published on 31 July, their held status is read from the tracker capture named beside them, and Galaxy's unmoved-coins statement is fixed to 3 August.
- Any recovery, seizure or insurance payout. None has been reported in any captured source as of 15 August 2026. A 3 August report of white-hat drains underway, relayed by Bitcoin News from a community post, is unconfirmed and does not name recovered amounts. In the 6 August capture of a Reddit thread carrying the same claim, a commenter writes that they have seen only rumours, nothing concrete. R38
Checking this page
Every material claim carries a scoped evidence label, defined on the
About page; captured sources are
available through the evidence pages where publication
rights allow.
Figures are preserved as each source stated them, with the time each was
published or captured. Live balances and published attributions change;
later revisions are added as dated statements rather than being folded
silently into earlier figures.
Evidence on this page 38 items
- V1 Verified · contested
That each tracker figure above matches the capture named beside it, and the capture and health times stated
Source Read at build time from the held snapshots for coldcard-watch, coldcard.rip and coldcard-hack-tracker, and from this archive's own poll record
Evidence → captured
- R2 Reported · contested
The five headline figures in the table, their scopes, and the captures each tracker figure was read from
Source Galaxy Research's captured 3 August thread, and the tracker figures read at build time from the captures named in each row
Evidence → captured
- R3 Reported · contested
TFTC's published 500-transaction set and first-collector receipt, and its stated limit on cause
Source TFTC's captured report, 31 Jul 2026
Evidence → captured
- R4 Reported · contested
Hamilton's published preliminary figures and output-type observations
Source Rob Hamilton primary post, captured 1 Aug 2026
Evidence → captured
- R5 Reported · contested
The flow stages: one first collector into the largest holding with a retained remainder for the 500-transaction set, and three first collectors with two batch consolidations for the 695-transaction set
Source Galaxy Research's captured 31 July flow-of-funds post and Block's captured preliminary thread
Evidence → captured
- R6 Reported · contested
Galaxy's published address count, gross BTC total, time window, derivation-path counts and transaction-pattern description
Source Galaxy Research primary post, captured 1 Aug 2026
Evidence → captured
- R7 Reported · contested
Galaxy's third wave, its revised total and address count, and the method limit it states for them
Source Galaxy Research's captured 1 August thread; the revised totals are Galaxy's attributed estimate and the underlying transaction and address lists are not published
Evidence → captured
- R8 Reported · contested
Galaxy's 3 August confirmed total and address count, its wave-confirmation basis, and the 73-victim figure
Source Galaxy Research's captured 3 August thread; the underlying transaction and address lists are not published
Evidence → captured
- R9 Reported · contested
Galaxy's 2,055 BTC figure including the suspected fourth wave, its confidence statement and its reason for not promoting the wave
Source Galaxy Research's captured 3 August thread; Galaxy does not itemise the wave-4 component of the 2,055 BTC total
Evidence → captured
- R10 Reported · contested
Galaxy's statements that 90 percent of stolen coins and 100 percent of waves 1 to 3 coins have not moved, and that addresses were provided to law enforcement, exchanges and compliance firms
Source Galaxy Research's captured 3 August thread; the endpoint address sets are not published, so the unmoved findings are not independently checked here
Evidence → captured
- R11 Reported · contested
Galaxy's statement about the firmware ship date, block 674,951 and the creation dates of the coins it identified
Source Galaxy Research's captured 1 August thread; what the boundary means for published version ranges is set out on the firmware page
Evidence → captured
- R12 Reported · contested
The BTC and USD estimates in the source register above
Source Estimates as published by each source; USD figures use each source's conversion at its publication time
Evidence → captured
- V13 Verified · contested
The three figure-change trails in this paragraph, as classified in the revision register
Source Captured snapshots and diffs for coldcard-watch, coldcard-hack-tracker and Kelbie's tracker, each classified in revision-reviews.toml
Evidence → captured
- V14 Verified · contested
That coldcard-watch's figure was unread rather than unchanged from 4 to 7 August, the figure and address count its 7 August capture carries, and that coldcard-hack-tracker's headline has stood since 4 August while its detail rows have not
Source This archive's poll record for coldcard-watch, which logs name-resolution failures from 4 August and HTTP 200 from 7 August, and the held snapshots and classified diffs for both trackers
Evidence → captured
- R15 Reported · contested
The original wave-4 post's transaction, address, amount and block-range figures, and the pending Pastebin's stated replace-by-fee set
Source The captured @intangiblecoins original thread posts and linked Pastebin pages, 3 Aug 2026
Evidence → captured
- R16 Reported · contested
The removal of six of 216 wave-4 destination addresses for prior history, and the statement that 206 of the rest were freshly created
Source The first captured @intangiblecoins wave-4 correction, 3 Aug 2026
Evidence → captured
- R17 Reported · contested
The second correction's multisig finding, its stated circulated, discounted and surviving wave-4 figures, and its statement that wave 4 rests on pattern matching without direct victim confirmation
Source The second captured @intangiblecoins wave-4 correction, 3 Aug 2026, crediting Nunchuk
Evidence → captured
- R18 Reported · contested
Galaxy's medium-high-confidence wave-4 statement, and the tracker's 443.34 BTC, 703-address wave-4 line with its stated derivation from 448.73 BTC and its reading of Galaxy's 2,055 BTC ceiling
Source Galaxy Research's captured 3 August thread, which states 2,055 BTC and no wave-4 component, and the coldcard-hack-tracker captures of 4 Aug 2026, 03:05 UTC and 7 Aug 2026, 13:20 UTC, which carry the same wave-4 figures and derivation; the attribution of 448.73 BTC to Galaxy is the tracker's own
Evidence → captured
- D19 Derived · contested
The observation that the second correction's stated subtractions give 768 addresses and 465.53 BTC rather than its stated 709 addresses and 448.73 BTC
Source Integer subtraction of the counts and amounts stated in the second correction itself; no other input is used
Evidence → captured
- R20 Reported · contested
The differing time windows, spans and qualifications in the table above
Source Captured Hamilton, Galaxy, Coin360, KeychainX and Bitcoin Optech sources; block timestamps re-checkable on any public block explorer
Evidence → captured 1 Aug 2026
- R21 Reported · contested
The four consolidation addresses and their published amounts, and the first collector's split into the largest holding and the retained remainder
Source Galaxy Research's captured 31 July flow-of-funds post
Evidence → captured
- R22 Reported · contested
The four addresses and amounts in the table, as published
Source Galaxy Research's captured 31 July flow-of-funds post
Evidence → captured
- R23 Reported · contested
Galaxy's 3 August unmoved-coins statements, and the tracker's record of the wave 2 collector spend at block 961,368, of its moved total and still-held share at the two captures named, and of the exchange-attributed deposits and the THORChain-to-Tornado ETH leg
Source Galaxy Research's captured 3 August thread and the coldcard-hack-tracker captures of 4 Aug 2026, 03:05 UTC and 7 Aug 2026, 13:20 UTC; the wave labelling, the exchange attributions and the ETH tracing are the tracker's own and are not independently checked here
Evidence → captured
- R24 Reported · contested
Galaxy's warning that future exploit transactions need not share the observed pattern
Source The Block's report of a Galaxy Research statement, captured 1 Aug 2026
Evidence → captured
- R25 Reported · contested
Block's statement that it is sharing information with authorities, Coinkite's offer of written incident summaries and transaction data, and Galaxy's statement that it is providing addresses to law enforcement, exchanges and compliance firms
Source Clay Garrett's captured three-post attribution thread and NVK's captured apology post, both 31 Jul 2026, and Galaxy's captured 3 August thread; no statement's follow-through is observable from here
Evidence → captured
- R26 Reported · contested
The reported OP_RETURN laundering solicitation sent to the largest consolidation address, and the report's own caveats about the withheld handle and unproven authenticity
Source Bitcoin News's captured post of 2 Aug 2026; the sender is unidentified and the solicitation's authenticity is unestablished
Evidence → captured
- R27 Reported · contested
Duel's stated no-freeze policy and the conditions of its one-time exception for the reported THORChain-peeled victim funds
Source Duel's captured reply of 2 Aug 2026 to the peel report; whether the conditions were met or any balance was frozen is not observable from here
Evidence → captured
- U28 Unverified · contested
Whether any exchange or custodial service has frozen or committed to flagging deposits from the attributed addresses
Source No captured source held by this project reports such a step as of 15 August 2026; the archive cannot observe unpublished compliance action
Evidence → captured
- R29 Reported · contested
Galaxy's statement that some initial addresses came from victim reports on X and that its analysis is not complete or definitive
Source Galaxy Research's captured 1 August methodology disclaimer; whether any address was acted on is not observable from here
Evidence → captured
- U30 Unverified · contested
The share of the attributed transaction sets actually caused by the firmware flaw, and the site's use of the word theft, which records the public incident attribution rather than an established finding about authorisation: the transactions, amounts, timing and consolidation are documented in the captured sources above, but the chain does not show whether each transfer was authorised or who operated the sweep
Source The exact share caused by this firmware flaw has not been established from public evidence as of a 14 August 2026 recheck
Evidence → captured
- R31 Reported · contested
The 73-victim figure and its status as a floor rather than a count of affected owners
Source Galaxy Research's captured 3 August thread
Evidence → captured
- R32 Reported · contested
The estimate of at least 15 distinct attackers
Source Alex Thorn's captured 4 August post; the underlying labels, victim set and counting method are not published in the post
Evidence → captured
- U33 Unverified · contested
Whether the 14 smaller footprints and the earlier 695 transactions were controlled by the same operator as the mass waves
Source Galaxy's captured 3 August thread and Block's captured preliminary accounting thread, which explicitly says the relationship to the drain was not confirmed; no later confirmation was captured in a 15 August 2026 recheck
Evidence → captured
- R34 Reported · contested
The composition of Galaxy's confirmed set and the addresses behind its 3 August total
Source Galaxy Research's captured 3 August thread, which publishes totals rather than the underlying transaction or address list
Evidence → captured
- R35 Reported · contested
Kelbie's current treatment of the 45.9 BTC cluster
Source Kelbie's rebuilt tracker, captured 3 Aug 2026, integrates the cluster as wave 960345 of its ten-wave incident set, citing a named claimant, a Chainabuse report and Galaxy Research
Evidence → captured
- U36 Unverified · contested
Whether the reported 45.9 BTC cluster is in fact related to the principal incident set
Source The tracker integration is the reporter's own assessment; no independent confirmation of the relationship was captured in a 15 August 2026 recheck
Evidence → captured
- U37 Unverified · contested
Whether the circulated wave-4 set belongs to the same incident as the attributed transaction sets
Source The author's own second correction and Galaxy's captured 3 August thread, both stating the lack of victim confirmation, and the coldcard-hack-tracker capture of 14 Aug 2026, 00:24 UTC, which still records no victim report; no later confirmation was captured in a 15 August 2026 recheck
Evidence → captured
- R38 Reported · contested
The reported but unconfirmed claim that white-hat drains are underway, and the commenter's 6 August statement that only rumours have been seen
Source Bitcoin News's captured 3 August post, which cites @coinjoined, and the captured Reddit thread carrying the same claim, 6 Aug 2026; no recovered amounts are named and no victim confirmation is held
Evidence → captured